» » Remain In Light - Introduction To A Dream

Remain In Light - Introduction To A Dream flac album

Remain In Light - Introduction To A Dream flac album
Introduction To A Dream
Goth Rock, Post-Punk
FLAC album size:
1304 mb
Other formats:
4.4 ✪

Complete your Remain In Light collection.

Remain in Light is the fourth studio album by American rock band Talking Heads, released on October 8, 1980 by Sire Records. It was recorded at Compass Point Studios in the Bahamas and Sigma Sound Studios in Philadelphia between July and August 1980 and produced by longtime collaborator Brian Eno. Following the release of their previous album Fear of Music in 1979, the quartet and Eno sought to dispel notions of the band as a mere vehicle for frontman and lyricist David Byrne.

On this page you can not listen to mp3 music free or download album or mp3 track to your PC, phone or tablet. All materials are provided for educational purposes. Released at: This album was released on the label Not On Label (Remain In Light Self-released) (catalog number RIL001). This album was released in 2013-10-31 year. Format of the release is.

The opening track of Remain in Light, Born Under Punches is an excellent introduction to the album’s synthesis of the old and new Talking Heads. The music is funky and complex with electronic touches; it also features Byrne’s trademark alienated-guy lyrics. For fairly obvious reasons, the songs from this album are popular with electronic musicians, who use current technology to recreate the record’s multiple layers of sound relatively easily. An album that began with the danceable Born Under Punches ends in a fever dream of loneliness and despair. Reportedly, it was an attempt by Talking Heads to recreate the music of Joy Division, despite the fact that none of the band had actually ever heard Joy Division, a remarkably oblique strategy.

On her new cover of the album, Beninese singer Angélique Kidjo pays tribute to both the album itself and these Nigerian influences, even featuring Afrobeat co-founder and master drummer Tony Allen on "Houses in Motion" and "Crosseyed and Painless". Opening track "Born Under Punches" lets Kidjo's voice burst forth in an a cappella introduction that leads to a cover whose riffs remain largely unchanged from the original song. Kidjo's powerful voice both takes center stage and makes up layers of background sound, and the song makes for a perfect introduction to the diva herself, though it only scratches the surface of what she can do with the Heads' work.

Released October 8, 1980. Remain in Light Tracklist. 1. Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On) Lyrics. About Remain in Light. The most successful Talking Heads album; it is frequently cited as one of the best albums of the 1980s. It is our sixth Classic Album of the Week. Remain in Light Q&A.

On Remain in Light, rhythm takes over. Each of the eight compositions adheres to a single guitar-drum riff repeated endlessly, creating what funk musicians commonly refer to as a groove. In place of formal singing, the album substitutes found vocals: . random voices taped off the radio. Indeed, one of these voices, that of evangelist Kathryn Kuhlman, threw the entire project into legal limbo with a threat to sue unless it was removed. Sire has indicated that the disc will probably be remixed, but no release date has been set.

Remain in Light' is arguably the Talking Heads' best album ever. Steeped in primitive, African rhthyms, but sent with the trajectory of advanced technology, the album harnesses a mesmerizing and formidable set of sounds and images. It is easily Talking Heads' most avant garde work of their whole career. Think of tribal music generated from a computer, and you get 'Remain in Light'. What used to be known as side one has mainly more progressive songs, and the second half is more subdued, but all of it is brilliant.

The resulting album, Remain in Light, is recognized as a turning point for the band. It was a moment of liberation, Steenstra says. Talking Heads would go on to make films, David Byrne went on to make music for ballet and for theater, and he would make theater himself. There was this very open range of artistic possibilities.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 X Corde Vita
Lyrics By – Y. Panteleon*
2 Open Mindway
Lyrics By – Y. Panteleon*
3 Balm Of Gilead (Venra)
Lyrics By [Poetry] – E.A Poe*
4 Longing
Lyrics By – Y. Panteleon*
5 Prey Red
Lyrics By – Y. Panteleon*
6 Salvation
Lyrics By – Y. Panteleon*

Companies, etc.

  • Engineered At – Rough Studio
  • Produced At – Rough Studio


  • Bass – Y*
  • Bass [Synth Bass] – Constantine*
  • Cover –
  • Drums – Ghoul , S. "Reverb" G.
  • Guitar – Dok , Snow
  • Mastered By – Christos Megas*
  • Music By – S. (Reverb) Georgiadis*, T. Paschalis (Snow)*, Y. Panteleon (Y)*
  • Photography By – Ianthi Slg
  • Producer, Engineer, Guitar [Additional] – Asklepios Zambetas*
  • Vocals – Elder K, Iota


Produced and engineered at "Rough Studios", Thessaloniki, Greece spring 2012 ‑ summer 2013.

Thanks to Lena, Theo Noir, Rough Studio crew, Skive, Alan Bond, Nancy Mandaltsi, Mike Pougounas, Nick Tao, Cathedral 13 (uSA), Sombratti records (BR), DJ Cruel Britannia (UK) and the Green Widow (AUS) for assistance, trust and support.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RIL001 Remain In Light Introduction To A Dream ‎(CD, MiniAlbum, Rel) Not On Label (Remain In Light Self-released) RIL001 Greece 2014
RIL001 Remain In Light Introduction To A Dream ‎(6xFile, MP3, 320) Not On Label (Remain In Light Self-released) RIL001 Greece 2013